Handmade in the Scottish Borders

“I am inspired by the amazing fabrics that are produced locally here in the Borders. The textures, colour and quality is outstanding and a delight to work with………….“

I work mainly in scrap fabrics locally sourced from tweed and textile mills to produce a range of desirable products. I love to incorporate the natural flaws, rough edges and faults in the fabrics and off-set by unusual buttons and trims. I put different fabrics together in unusual and creative ways adding yarns and leaving seams on the outsides of my products to enhance the textures and the colours.

I try to create products that are contemporary, quirky and fun and these are often made from very traditional Scottish fabrics, tartan and tweeds. I use simple sewing techniques to produce practical good quality products but which are sculptural and exciting to use and wear.

For more information please CLICK HERE

One thought on “Handmade in the Scottish Borders

  1. Hi Julie,
    Thankyou so much for my handbag, it is brillant, far better than I thought it would be

    Christine Farnish

Leave a Reply

